Through the Looking Glass Children's Book Reviews

The Mortal Instruments: Book Four - City of Fallen Angels

The Mortal Instruments: Book Four - City of Fallen Angels

Cassandra Clare
Fiction  Series
For ages 14 and up
Simon and Schuster, 2011   ISBN: 978-1442403543

Clary should be happy. She is back in New York City, her enemy is dead, and she now knows that her beloved Jace is not her brother and therefore the love they have for one another is not forbidden. All is not well though because something is wrong with Jace, and he is refusing to discuss what is happening. In addition, someone is killing Shadowhunters, creating tension between the vampires, the werewolves, the faeries, and the Shadowhunters. There is a very big concern that someone is deliberately trying to create a conflict.

Meanwhile, Simon is trying to come to terms with his new vampire status. His mother freaks out when he tells her the truth, and he leaves his home, not wanting to upset her further. The problem is that the Mark of Cain on his forehead, which Clary gave him to protect him, is attracting unwanted attention. It would seem that someone wants to use Simon for their own purposes, and no one knows who that someone is.

Desperate to find out what is wrong with Jace, Clary persuades him to go and get help from the Silent Brothers. She and Jace are both worried that saving his life in Idris may have actually made him vulnerable to attack, and that he might be possessed by a powerful demon. The hope is that the Silent Brothers will be able to rebuild Jace’s defenses before it is too late, but there is the possibility that it is already too late to do anything to save him.

In this fourth book in the Mortal Instruments series, a new set of problems arises, and we discover that old enemies still have the power to cause a great deal of trouble for the Shadowhunters and their friends and allies. Readers will be eager to find out how Jace, Simon, Clary, and their friends are going to get through the new challenges that face them.