Through the Looking Glass Children's Book Reviews

The Lady Grace Mysteries: Haunted

The Lady Grace Mysteries: Haunted

Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Historical Fiction  Series
For ages 10 and up
Random House UK, 2006   ISBN: 978-0385608534

Lady Grace Cavendish is happy enough to be spending some time at Medenham Manor. The manor's owner Lord Reynold Waldegrave, the fifth Earl of Medenham, has made many changes to the house of which he is very proud and he is eager to show the queen what he has had done. Of course he tells the queen that the work was done in her name which pleases Her Majesty. What does not please her is to hear that the ghost of the first Earl of Medenham has been seen walking about in the east wing.

Aside from the obvious, what is odd about all this is that the ghost has not been seen for many years. Grace cannot help wondering why the ghost is making his presence felt now. What is even more peculiar is that the present Earl insists that his ancestor, the first Earl, died away from his home. Why should the first Earl haunt the house if he did not die there?

With her customary skill and courage Grace sets about trying to solve this puzzle. She has very little time however and she knows that if she fails in her task the queen will leave Medenham Manor and poor Lord Reynold will certainly be ruined by the disgrace of it all.

Readers of this excellent series will once again greatly enjoy seeing Lady Grace Cavendish solve a puzzling mystery. Not only does Grace have to get to the bottom of whatever is going on, but she also has to do so without upsetting her temperamental mistress. Readers will learn more about life in the court of Queen Elizabeth I of England and they will come to appreciate that it was often hard work being one of her loyal and loving subjects. Grace's voice comes through beautifully as we read her entries in her "daybooke" and we can enjoy the way in which she observes her world with shrewdness and humour.