Through the Looking Glass Children's Book Reviews



Katie Wilson
Novelty Board Book
For ages 3 to 5
Flowerpot Press, 2017   ISBN: 978-1486713059

The year is divided into four distinct seasons, each one of which has “its own unique characteristics and weather.” In this clever interactive board book, children are encouraged to explore the things that they might expect to see in the spring, summer, fall, and winter.

Each season is presented on two spreads. The first shows us a scene from each season, and the second shows us the things that we wear at that time of year. For example on the first spring spread we learn that spring is the season “when plants and flowers begin to bloom.” We see a pretty landscape full of fresh new grass, flowers, butterflies, and a bird watching over its nest of eggs. We are invited to turn the dial on the right hand side of the book to find “something you see in spring.”

On the next spread we see the clothes that people tend to wear in spring. Spring is often a wet season so we see pictures of boots and a raincoat, which are accompanied by images of rain, a rainbow, and a puddle. Here we need to turn the dial to find “something you wear in the spring.”

Readers can then go on to explore summer (with a beach scene), fall (with a harvest scene), and winter (with a snowy countryside scene.) On every spread they get to turn the dial to find the thing that best matches what they are seeing on that page.

The final spread in the book invites children to choose which of the four seasons is their favorite.