Through the Looking Glass Children's Book Reviews

Season of Promise: Elizabeth’s Jamestown Colony Diary

Season of Promise: Elizabeth’s Jamestown Colony Diary

Patricia Hermes
Historical Fiction  Series
For ages 7 to 10
Scholastic, 2000   ISBN: 978-0439272063

Elizabeth can hardly believe that her twin brother Caleb is finally in Virginia with her and the rest of the family. At last Caleb is with them and they are a complete family once more. Of course now their mother is gone, one of the victims of the fever, but baby Abigail is thriving and life in the settlement is definitely easier.

Elizabeth notices that there are many changes in the settlement now. A new leader, Lord Delaware, arrived on the last ship that came from England and now the rules in the settlement are very strict and often harsh. All the children are afraid of what might happen to them if they break one of the many rules.

Elizabeth now has to accept that she had to behave in a more ladylike manner though she chafes under the strictures placed upon her and she cannot stand the many hours that she is expected to spend doing needlework. Why is it that Lord Delaware is so unfair and is there nothing that Elizabeth can do about this new state of affairs?

At last life in the Jamestown settlement seems to be getting easier for the colonists and yet there are always new challenges for Elizabeth to face. As she grows up she has to accept that relationships are always changing and if she wants to be heard she has to make the effort to speak her mind clearly and with courage.