Through the Looking Glass Children's Book Reviews

Hans Christian Andersen’s Fairy Tales

Hans Christian Andersen’s Fairy Tales

Hans Christian Andersen
Illustrator:  Lisbeth Zwerger 
Picture Book
For ages 4 to and up
Penguin, 2006   ISBN: 978-0698400351

Let us begin with the tales of the Sandman. Every night the Sandman visits a little boy called Hjalmar and every night he tells the boy a wonderful story or takes him on a remarkable journey into magical lands. Each perfect little tale will capture your imagination and send you into the world of sleep with images of great sailing ships, storks, and talking toys filling your mind.

After the tales of the Sandman you can meet a grasshopper and a jumping jack who are determined to find out which of them can jump the highest, and then there is that familiar story of Thumbeline, the adventures of a little girl who is no bigger than the average mouse.

In all Lisabeth Zweger shares eleven of Hans Christian Andersen’s extraordinary tales with us. Some are well known such as “The Emperor’s New Clothes” and “The Princess and the Pea.” Others like “The Sandman” and “The Naughty Boy” are less well known and will introduce the reader to a whole new family of characters. Delicate and whimsical illustrations capture the humor, beauty, and poignancy of the tales. The author of this outstanding anthology won the 1990 Hans Christian Andersen Medal for her lifetime contribution to children’s literature. Readers who enjoyed this book might like to look at Lisabeth Zweger’s other titles which include many of the tales written by the Brothers Grimm.