Through the Looking Glass Children's Book Reviews

Crocodile Tears

Crocodile Tears

Anthony Horowitz
Fiction  Series
For ages 12 and up
Penguin, 2009   ISBN: 978-0399250569

Alex Rider has decided that he is not, under any circumstance, going to work for MI6 again. All he wants to do is to have a normal life. He wants to go to school, live in his home, and do the things that other teenage boys his age do. Unfortunately, even when Alex is trying to stay out of trouble, trouble seems to find him.

It all begins when Alex goes to a Scottish castle for a New Years Eve party. Alex meets the host of the party, one Desmond McCain, and soon after the car he is traveling in crashes into a lake, almost killing him and the friends he is with. Alex is the only one who guesses that the accident wasn’t an accident at all.

Not long after, a journalist contacts Alex and informs him that he knows all about Alex’s spy activities. Desperate to avoid exposure, Alex contacts MI6 and asks them for their help. Not surprisingly, the people at MI6 are not willing to help unless Alex agrees to do them a little favor – they need him to steal some information from a special genetic modification research facility called Greenfields. MI6 is concerned that the scientists at Greenfields might be cooking up something dangerous. Little do they know that a truly terrible secret lies at the heart of Greenfields, one that could bring Alex’s short life to a very abrupt end.

This gripping thriller takes Alex Rider on yet another incredible series of escapades. With colorful characters and heart-stopping moments, this title is a must for readers who like adventure stories.