Through the Looking Glass Children's Book Reviews

Blackthorn’s Changing Seasons

Blackthorn’s Changing Seasons

Cicely Mary Barker
Picture Book  Series
For ages 3 to 6
Penguin, 2005   ISBN: 978-0723253785

Blackthorn is sure that early spring is the nicest time of year for her bush is covered with little white flowers which dance in the soft breezes. Then summer arrives and so many other flowers start to open, to bloom, and to fill Flower Fairyland with wonderful scents and sights. When Blackthorn's white flowers start to fall off she becomes very upset thinking that nothing pretty will happen to her again until spring returns, and yet... there are still lots of wonderful beautiful surprises to come in the summer, autumn and winter.

This charming little book about the joys of the different seasons will appeal both to those who love Cicely Mary Barker's Flower fairies and also to those who love to watch the seasons change.

This is one of the books in the "Flower Fairies Friends" series.