Through the Looking Glass Children's Book Reviews

Betraying Season

Betraying Season

Marissa Doyle
Fiction  Series
For ages 14 and up
Henry Holt and Co. , 2009   ISBN: 978-0805082524

Not long ago Penelope (Pen) and her twin sister Persy stumbled upon a plot to kill Princess Victoria, the future queen of England. Thanks to Persy’s considerable magical skills, both the princess and Pen were saved from an untimely demise. Now Persy is happily married, and Pen has decided that the time has come for her to brush up her own magical skills. She needs to prove to herself that she is as good a witch as her sister.

To improve her magical abilities Pen travels to Ireland with her former governess, Ally, and Ally’s new husband Michael Carrighar. Michael’s father is a well known wizard who is a fine teacher and who will surely be able to advance Pen’s studies. Diligently Pen reads her way through books about magic, discussing certain topics with Dr. Carrighar.

Then, a few weeks after arriving in Cork, Pen almost gets hit by a carriage when she steps into a street without looking. The owner of carriage, Lady Keating, is annoyed at first, but then she seems to take a shine to Pen and she invites the young woman to tea. At her house, Pen meets Lady Keating’s son Naill and she cannot help being taken by the handsome and charming young man. What she does not know is that Lady Keating has given her son strict instructions to win Pen’s heart. Lady Keating plans on using Pen to put a diabolical plan in place so that she can fulfill a precious secret.

This intriguing novel beautifully combines historical fact with mythology, magical doings, and romance. Readers will be hard pressed to force themselves to put the book down once they have started reading.