Through the Looking Glass Children's Book Reviews

Bedtime in the Forest

Bedtime in the Forest

Kazuo Iwamura
Picture Book  Series
For ages 4 to 7
North-South, 2010   ISBN: 978-0735823105

Every morning Mick, Mack and Molly, the squirrel children, have a hard time getting up out of their cozy beds. “Why do we always have to get up in the morning?” Molly asks. Her mother explains that squirrel children slept at night and then they get up in the morning.

One morning, Mick, Mack, and Molly discover that there are some animals that don’t get up with the sun. The owls for example, get up when the sun sets instead. The two owl children are asleep when the three squirrel children are wide awake and eager to play.

Instead of going to sleep that night, Molly, Mick and Mack sneak out of their beds and they run off to play with the little owls. They think that they will be able to stay up all night like their new playmates.

This is one in a series of books that Kazuo Iwamura has written about Mick, Mack, and Molly. Just like all the other titles, this book is beautifully illustrated, and little children will quickly identify with the three little squirrels who think that they can stay up all night.