Through the Looking Glass Children's Book Reviews

Autumn Story

Autumn Story

Jill Barklem
Picture Book  Series
For ages 4 to 8
Simon and Schuster, 1999   ISBN: 0689830548

It is autumn and the mice at Bramley Hedge are gathering the fruits of the forest and hedgerow. Working together they fill up the “Store Stump” will nuts and berries and mushrooms. It is during all the harvesting activities that Lord and Lady Woodmouse discover that their little daughter Primrose is nowhere to be found. Soon the mice are all looking for the missing mouse child.

Meanwhile Primrose is having a wonderful adventure making new friends in the cornfield and discovering interesting new places. There are also, however, frightening sites and sounds and Primrose begins to wonder if she is ever going to be found by her family.

Against a backdrop of autumn scenes Jill Barklem tells a sweet and simple little story about a little mouse child’s adventures in a woodland world.