Through the Looking Glass Children's Book Reviews

Artemis Opal: The Opal Deception

Artemis Opal: The Opal Deception

Eoin Colfer
Fiction  Series
For ages 12 and up
Disney-Hyperion, 2006   ISBN: 978-0786852901

Artemis Fowl is back to his old tricks masterminding criminal activities. Unfortunately the progress he made towards becoming a better person has been wiped out along with the memories that he had of his involvement with the fairy people. The fairy mind wipe has made Artemis and Butler quite forget all the adventures that they had with the little magical people who live secretly underground. Unfortunately one of those fairy people, an evil pixie called Opal Koboi, has not forgotten Artemis. Opal is bent on having her revenge on Artemis and all of Artemis' fairy comrades including Captain Holly Short and Commander Root.

At first no one believes that Opal is really back. How could she be when she supposed to be in a coma in a secure facility? Thanks to careful planning and scheming, Opal manages to be in two places at the same time and her active and vengeful self sets about destroying those she feels are responsible for her year long incarceration. Holly and Commander Root are her first targets. Then she sets her sights on Artemis. Holly manages to escape and then the race is on. Holly simply has to get to Artemis before Opal does. Of course things are not made any easier by the fact that Artemis does not remember who Holly is.

In this fourth Artemis Fowl story Artemis once again proves that he has a truly formidable intellect. With the help of Holly, Mulch Diggums the dwarf and others, Artemis battles to stop Opal Koboi from exposing the entire fairy world to humankind. Wonderfully humorous and exciting from its beginning to its end, fans of magic and high tech gadgets will not be able to resist this engrossing tale.